Our New Bishop

Dr. Mabuse asked me to post anything I learn about the new bishop. Well, my pastor says he is very liberal. He is the dean of theology at Huron College, which will be hosting Dr. John Dominic Crossan at a public lecture. Crossan is the co-founder of the Jesus Seminar – the group of “scholars” who say that they are trying to find the person they call the historical Jesus, but in reality seem to have the goal of tearing down anything that smacks of classical Christianity. If this is the type of person that he would think appropriate to invite to give a public lecture at a seminary, well, that says a lot, I think. On the other hand, just because he is liberal, doesn’t mean that he will treat the orthodox in the diocese unfairly. We mustn’t give ourselves whiplash jumping to conclusions. Still, I am afraid that I am pessimistic…..

Comments on: "Our New Bishop" (3)

  1. Oh, Lord. No, I guess it’s wrong to automatically expect the worst, but if he’s in with Crossan…well, my dear Mrs. Falstaff, I think your husband had a few choice words about “touching pitch” that wouldn’t be out of place here. You have my sympathy.

  2. mrsfalstaff said:

    LOL, he did indeed, he did indeed.

  3. […] MORE ON THE NEW +OTTAWA– “..he is very liberal. He is the dean of theology at Huron College, which will be […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

