Hello, all….

    Something that’s been on my heart today – please, please be careful what you say about your priests and parishes on the internet!  We are entering perilous times, and pen names don’t guarantee anonymity, as I found out when I started writing this blog (Hi Warren, Henry, and Margo, all of whom guessed who I am!), and reasserters read blogs too.  Be careful!

Matthew 10 (Today’s New International Version)

{Emphasis mine}

16 “I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves. 17 Be on your guard; you will be handed over to the local councils and be flogged in the synagogues. 18 On my account you will be brought before governors and kings as witnesses to them and to the Gentiles. 19 But when they arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, 20 for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you

Comments on: "Hello, all…." (5)

  1. Although I regularly view several blogs (but rarely post), and spend far too much time doing so, I think that blogs can often be a very artificial and frustrating way of communicating. Also, some commenters on blogs would likely not live very long if they conducted themselves in real life the way they do on the Internet. The seeming veil of anonymity brings out antisocial behaviour in some people. All in all, blogs don’t seem to be a very productive way of building community and resolving issues. They can be helpful in informing people, however.

    My favourite blogger by a long shot (sorry Mrs Falstaff), who also has a regular pod cast, recently pod casted about the limitations of Internet community. I think he is bang on the money. If you choose to listen (assuming the link works), you first have to listen to a short rant about televangelists.

    http://www.internetmonk.com/archive/internet-monk-radio-podcast-77

  2. mrsfalstaff said:

    Eh, I suppose that post was as much a reminder to myself as to anyone, really.

  3. I don’t see your blog as being symptomatic of the things I identified in my first post. Although you may sometimes wish you had more comments, your posts don’t seem to generate vigorous and/or nasty discussion from a large number of posters. You do provide useful and interesting information and insights, though.

  4. Hmmm, Warren figured out who I was as well…and I thought my internet persona was nearly fool-proof. I wonder who he’s really working for….?

    BTW, both my parish priests are great, along with our parish which is equally wonderful. It’s actually a lot like an Ottawa parish I often visited when I was there on business…a place known well by both mrsfalstaff and Warren.

    I started out blogging completely anonymous – to protect myself from internet prowlers. I make it a rule to never write anything I would not be comfortable speaking directly to the people involved (well, perhaps with the exception of my bishop, but she’s no longer my bishop).

  5. mrsfalstaff said:

    Good – I don’t want to inspire nasty comments, and I always kick myself when I get drawn in to nasty discussions on other blogs.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

