Women’s Ordination

No, I am not going to offer an opinion one way or another. I just want to wonder out loud, why does the topic of women’s ordination have the capacity to get so nasty, dare I say it, unchristian? I’ve seen more vitriol on the net, amongst reasserters, on this topic than I have between reasserters and reappraisers. What gives?

Rude or nasty comments will be summarily deleted.

Comments on: "Women’s Ordination" (4)

  1. Anglicanism in not unique in this regard. Anglicanism does, however, seem to have a broader range of strongly held views concerning WO than do other denominations I am familiar with. You would probably consider my views on WO to be quite conservative, but I view it as a matter of secondary doctrine. Although we may need to draw a line in the sand concerning primary doctrine, I believe we are called to be gracious towards one another in areas of secondary doctrine. I have a long way to go, but I pray that God is making a little headway with me. As an aside, my mother, although she has never held a position of leadership in the church, could probably preach a better sermon than many male preachers I have known 🙂

  2. A couple of summers ago, I helped out at the Women’s Ordination Worldwide conference at Carleton. Mostly RC, of course.

  3. mrsfalstaff said:

    I actually sort of understand why the Roman Catholics don’t ordain women, it has to do with their understanding of what communion is (which, as a Protestant, I think is mistaken, but that’s another issue).

  4. I know all the arguments pro and con, I hear them every fellowship hour between libs and cons. But when I bring up the topic of priests being called by God and that should take precedence the subject changes. If God wants a woman as a priest I have no problem. Discernment is such a fuzzy process we will never know for sure.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

