Too many funerals

I found out this morning that the priest who baptized my eldest son died recently. Now, he wasn’t a close family friend or anything, but still, it made me melancholy. I mentioned it to another person who knew him, and she cheerfully told me “Oh, but he was struggling, and he’s with the Lord now” . I know what she said is true: but aren’t we allowed to be sad? I don’t know how I would have reacted if she had been speaking of somebody I had been close to. Badly, I expect. Christians are allowed to grieve: we are just supposed to grieve as people who have hope.

Comments on: "Too many funerals" (1)

  1. You’re absolutely right. I find too many Christians think death is “natural.” Death is a part of this world’s present nature. But we were not intended to experience death, either by dying or watching someone else die.

    For a long time, I, too, thought death was natural l and that people who grieved were reacting selfishly out of their own pain. I was severely disabused of that notion when my healthy, fit, 18 year old cousin died unexpectedly. He was not meant to go so soon and death is anything but natural.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

