…the Diocese of Niagara. I keep saying that there isn’t anything more that the Anglican Church of Canada could do to shock me. I really have to stop saying that, because every time I do, well… I was shocked speechless by this one.

The lawyer for the diocese has conveyed the following request on behalf of his client, the diocese of Niagara:

“that the Incumbents, Church Wardens and congregants now associated with the ANiC not attend or be present at the properties on Sunday, May 11, 2008 from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. and each Sunday thereafter.”

In addition, the lawyer specifically asked us to post this “timely and direct communication” on the Anglican Essentials website, “requesting that members of the three ANiC congregations not attend or be present on the properties from 7:00 a.m. To 10:00 a.m. this Sunday and on subsequent Sundays.”

You can read the whole story, including ANiC’s response, on the Essentials blog here. I don’t think a Christian could have acted like this, I really don’t.

Comments on: "A Double Hairy Eyeball Goes To…" (3)

  1. Henry Troup said:

    The abominably bad witness that the official Church is making of itself is truly one of the things making me wonder about my own position.

  2. But the lawyer was only concerned about possible parking congestion, don’t cha know. Yeah, right. I wonder what the legal beagle charged the diocese for acting as traffic cop.

    Also, how can the diocese ensure that the “communication” is posted at the Anglican Essential website? What if Essentials refused to allow it? Grounds for another lawsuit, perhaps?

  3. Frankly, I was flabbergasted that they wanted us to post it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

