Computer frustrations

I seem to be over my upload limit on flickr, so you will have to be content with descriptions till July.

The battleship was amazing. It is huge – litterally a floating gun. I loved looking at where the crew slept and imagining my father in similar circumsances. What really struck me was the Korean war memorial, because there was a canadian flag on it, and a short description of Canada’s role in that war. The Americans still insist that WWII started in 1941, though.

Louisana was HOT and humid. Honestly that’s about all I remember, except for spotting lizards in the wild, and finding a terrific local bakery that sold beignets. Yum.We also saw the Evangeline oak, and I took some pictures of it, and the monument/park that surrounds it.

Next, we drove to Texas,and went to church at Christ Church, Plano.  What a beautiful place – spiritually, I mean.  There were eight baptisms that Sunday, which was a treat.  The place is  huge, but friendly, for all that.  It only took about five or ten minutes of looking confused before someone approached us and spoke to us.  They even have a bookstore, which I didn’t resist.  The sprit of God is certainly there.

Then we drove some more in Texas.  And then some more. And then some more.  We are in Amirillo, and it is windy and cool. I’m sitting with my laptop outside writing this, as the internet signal is too weak to reach our site, but it is very pleasant.  We saw miles and miles of open fields, with a tree here and there.  I don’t know if they have had a harvest of something already, but there doesnt seem to be a whole lot of green, mostly scrub and grazing cows.  It is a beautiful place in a stark way.  I’m seeing all kinds of birds I’ve never seen before, (and hearing them too, of course).  I saw one bird this morning with a very long thin forked tail, which seemed to be hunting mice or bugs – striking like a hawk would.   Tomorrow, we will have nine hours in the car, and the day after we will see the Grand Canyon.  I am keeping a paper scrapbook, getting pictures printed on the way, so if you are in Ottawa, you will see that, eventually.  Hopefully I will be able to get photographs up soon, but I haven’t been able to figure out how to upload photos directly to wordpress without using flickr as an intermeidary.

More in day or two, I hope.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

