He may have had Polio, but this man is no victim.

There’s real food for thought here, for people who choose not to immunize their children:

He is concerned, however, that 11 per cent of Canadians, or 3.4 million people, have not been immunized against polio. According to the World Health Organization, this puts Canada at a high risk for a return of the virus.

“We’re complacent here. The disease returned to Australia in 2007 for the first time in decades, and polio remains endemic in four countries: Afghanistan, Pakistan, India and Nigeria. It can spread again. We are definitely unaware of its effects because Canada has been relatively polio-free for decades, even though there are people like me living with the results of it.”

This is from the Polio Canada website:

Before immunization…“I am the second to the last of 13 siblings, five of whom died of vaccine-preventable diseases in infancy.”“Even after many years, she spoke of the ‘morted’angeli’ –death of her angels –with a great deal of emotion.Imagine losing not one or two or three or even four babies –but five.”-Dr. Eugene J. Gangarosa, Professor Emeritus, Department of International Health, Emory University, Atlanta“

Comments on: "Questionable Headline: A victim reminds us: Polio can still strike" (5)

  1. Henry Troup said:

    Immunization, for various reasons, attracts “fringe science”, most of which is actually ridiculous idiocy, practiced by people who don’t remember when infectious diseases were the major killers.

    It’s worth remembering that Ottawa was a bad place for malaria, once. At least one hypothesis is that infected British soldiers were bitten by local mosquitoes, which spread the disease.

    And there’s the West Nile example, too.

    One unvaccinated soldier catching polio in Afghanistan could be enough to start an Ottawa Valley outbreak. And there are a lot of people downstream from Petawawa!

  2. My kids’ shots are up to date I’ve met a polio survivor.

  3. Henry Troup said:

    Jen’s Aunt Cathy, and our good friend Samanda (was, I think) at our wedding both have post-polio syndrome. It’s not a nice disease.

  4. Polio is a horrible disease that thankfully has become much more under control thanks to vaccines. I know it still exists, along with measles, mumps, rubella, and the like.

    My children are not fully vaccinated. My youngest has had no vaccines at all. My story will be on my blog shortly to describe why.

    In short, the horrors that we have gone through, and the lifelong suffering my daughter will experience as a result of her vaccines makes choosing vaccines for our family more of a danger than protecting against these diseases.

    Note here that I dont think this choice is right for all families, and that parents are only obligated to make the most informed choice they can for their particular family situation. In my case, as a young mother I was not given all of the information to make an informed choice. If I had been, I would probably still have vaccinated, but on an extended schedule. Since that did not occur, my daughter had severe reactions that prevent her from ever being able to get vaccines safely again. We do not want to risk this reaction with my youngest.

    It is truly horrifying to think about what these polio survivors have had to go through, and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone, least of all my children.

    However, I’ve met a few polio survivors myself, and you can bet that they are thankful that they still have their mind, the ability to talk, and their senses. Ask them if they would rather trade their disability with being unable to ever use the restroom, or make friends, fall in love, graduate high school or get a job.

    These are tough times we live in and we all face tough decisions. The best we can hope for is to make the best choice we know how to for our individual situation, and to try to respect those who choose differently for their own good reasons.

  5. My Uncle had polio and post polio syndrome which plagued him until his unrelated death due to Leukemia, but he lived in pain all his life. He did live though and never complained. I can understand people’s concerns with vaccines, but having worked in peds and seen what children go through with the diseases, I couldn’t chose otherwise.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

