I know better. I am a small c conservative person, as far as my faith goes, and a left wing (gradually becoming more centrist as I get older) person as far as my politics go. I just got myself embroiled in a political discussion on an American blog. I know better, I really truly do, and I wasn’t even wearing my flame proof suit! It is very true that religion and politics don’t mix.

Comments on: "Square Peg in a Round Hole" (11)

  1. gradually becoming more centrist as I get older

    Drifting slowly towards the light 🙂

  2. David, you are a colossal sh*t disturber, you are.

  3. Thank you for noticing.

  4. The thread was on Stand Firm, and I was actually quite shocked by the way I was treated, especially by one of the bloggers who writes there. I guess your opinion is only welcome if you agree with the majority. Oh well. I suppose I should have known better than to venture left of centre opinions over there. Now I know better. Doesn’t mean I won’t do it again, mind you.

  5. Pointer to the thread – I’d like to take a look?

  6. Got it. And you call me a you-know-what disturber!

  7. Takes one to know one! 😉

  8. I especially liked the bit about my needing counseling because I am suspicious of big brother USA, and that the USA has never taken anybody over. (Let’s see, I don’t see Florida under Spanish leadership, and then there’s Hawaii, and the US Virgin Islands, and and and)

    Oh, and the bit about how the USA protected us all in WWII. I really wanted to ask her (or him) what year she thought WWII started, but I didn’t see the comment till after I said I wasn’t going to come back, so I thought I ought to shut up.

  9. My wife and I spent the past weekend with good friends (three different couples) in upstate NY that we made when during a three-year exchange posting to a US Air Force base there in the early 90s. On the way home I mentioned to my wife that I noticed myself becoming a little sarcastic about the US in some of my conversation and that I would have to watch myself during our forthcoming posting to Colorado Springs and always keep in mind that we are guests in the US. As you know, diplomacy is not always my strong suite, and it is something I will need to work at if I don’t want to unnecessarily offend people. I’ll probably find it hard not to get a little jab in here and there, though.

    P.S. I easily found the blog discussion in question via a Google search.

  10. Yes, well, Warren, it took a little work to do so, didn’t it. I didn’t want to link directly…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

